Skip Navigation
Skip to Main Content


News You Can Use

For Immediate Release:

Governor Larry Hogan Appoints Keturah Denise Harley To WMATA Board Of Directors

April 23, 2015

ANNAPOLIS, MD – Governor Larry Hogan today appointed Keturah Denise Harley to serve on the board of directors of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA). Ms. Harley will represent the state of Maryland and Prince George’s County and will fill the seat vacated by former board member Alvin Nichols, who left the board in January 2015.

“Keturah brings a strong regional perspective and broad legal expertise to the WMATA board,” said Governor Hogan. “Her labor relations and budgetary experience will serve the board well as the organization works to overcome significant financial challenges.”

Ms. Harley is the former general counsel for the District of Columbia Public Employee Relations Board and previously served as the agency’s acting executive director. As general counsel, she represented the agency in the District of Columbia Superior Court and in the District of Columbia Court of Appeals for all appellate matters. As acting executive director, Ms. Harley managed the agency’s budget, oversaw procurement activities, directed long-term planning, and represented the agency before the Council of the District of Columbia. Prior to the general counsel position, she worked as an appellate litigation attorney at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

“Keturah’s strong procurement and budget experience will be a true asset to the WMATA board as they work to get WMATA’s finances back in order,” said Transportation Secretary Pete K. Rahn. “I am confident that she will help steer the agency to deliver a Metro system that works for the thousands of people who depend on it every day.”

Ms. Harley earned a Bachelor of Arts in political science from Trinity College and a Juris Doctor from the Howard University School of Law.

The Metro board of directors determines agency policy and provides oversight for the funding, operation, and expansion of transit facilities within the greater Washington region. The board is composed of eight voting and eight alternate directors. Maryland, the District of Columbia, Virginia, and the federal government appoint two voting and two alternate directors each.

Media Contacts:

Erin Montgomery
Shareese Churchill
Governor's Press Office, 410-974-2316

#  #  #