Registering Your Company and Vehicles
There are several registration processes to complete before operating a commercial motor vehicle.
U.S. DOT or Maryland DOT number
Operating Authority (MC number)
You must obtain operating authority if you are an interstate for-hire passenger or property carrier, unless specifically exempt.
You must obtain operating authority if you are an intrastate passenger carrier, unless specifically exempt.
Unified Carrier Registration
All interstate motor carriers, motor private carriers, leasing companies, brokers, and freight forwarders are required to register under the Unified Carrier Registration Act (UCR).
Maryland is not a participating state. It is not registering carriers nor collecting fees. Maryland interstate carriers, private carriers, brokers, freight forwarders, and leasing companies must register with an UCR state, thus establishing a “base state.” The UCR Agreement applies to the following types of operations of passenger and property in interstate commerce: Motor carrier; Motor private carrier; Freight forwarder; Broker; and Leasing company. All registrants are required to submit an annual filing of information required within the UCR Agreement.
Choose Apportioned Registration or Maryland-only registration:
The Apportioned Registration Manual is a guide to the International Registration Plan (IRP) process for commercial vehicles that will be based in Maryland and will operate in other jurisdictions as well.
The Motor Carrier Handbook provides information on registration as well as other regulations for commercial vehicle operators.
Interstate Operations -- Apportioned Registration under the International Registration Plan (IRP)
You must use apportioned registration (IRP) if your vehicle travels in Maryland and in other IRP jurisdictions, and it is used for the transportation of persons for-hire, or it is designed, used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and
Under IRP, you must decide which IRP jurisdictions you will operate in (48 states, the District of Columbia, and 11 Canadian provinces). You must keep track of the miles driven by your fleet in each IRP jurisdiction and report the mileage annually. The fee calculation is based on the fees in each of the jurisdictions, apportioned according to the percentage of miles your fleet drives in each.
To obtain additional information, please visit MVA's Apportioned Registration website, or call 410-787-2971 or 1-800-950-1MVA(1682).
Interstate Operations -- Dump Service Operations
Maryland and Pennsylvania do not have dump service truck registration reciprocity.
Interstate Operations -- Trip Permits
An out-of-state vehicle operator must obtain a Maryland 72-hour Trip Permit prior to driving the vehicle in Maryland when all of these conditions are true:
Note that the use of a Maryland 72-hour Trip Permit is only recommended when the out-of-state vehicle will be driven in Maryland less than three times a year.
Trip permits can be obtained from third-party commercial providers. For a list of trip permit providers, contact MVA at 1-800-950-1MVA (1682).
Interstate Operations -- Fuel Tax (IFTA) Filing
All interstate and inter-jurisdictional carriers that travel in International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) member jurisdictions with a qualified motor vehicle must file fuel taxes through the IFTA. IFTA member jurisdictions include all contiguous states (except Alaska and the District of Columbia) and Canadian provinces (except Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and the Yukon Territory).
The Maryland Comptroller's Motor Fuel Tax division handles IFTA. For an IFTA compliance manual and to file electronically, visit the Comptroller's Office Motor Fuel Tax division.
In-State Operations -- Maryland-only Registration
MVA Vehicle Titling and Registration has information on registration.
In-State Operations -- Multi-year Fleet Registration
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration has a registration process that may be used for fleets of 25 or more intrastate commercial vehicles. The program is not available for vehicles with Apportioned Registration.
For more details on obtaining a Multi-year Fleet Registration, contact MVA at 1-800-950-1MVA (1682).