Skip Navigation
Maryland Transportation Commission

Formed in 1971, the Maryland Transportation Commission (MTC) studies the State transportation system (Chapter 526, Acts of 1970) and advises the Secretary of Transportation and Department Administrators on policy and programs.

The Commission has seventeen members, including ten appointed members and seven regional members. Ten members are appointed to three-year terms by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary of Transportation. The seven regional members of the State Roads Commission serve ex officio. The Governor names the Chair (Code Transportation Article, secs. 2-201 through 2-205).

2013 and 2014 MTC Meeting Dates

Meetings are held on the 1st Wednesday of every month at 10:30 AM and take place at the Maryland Department of Transportation Headquarters, unless otherwise noted.


July 2013

August 2013

September 2013

October 2013

November 2013

December 2013

January 2014

February 2014

March 2014

April 2014

May 2014

June 2014



Members are appointed by the Governor, with the advice of the Secretary of Transportation, to 3-year terms:


Current Members


Sudhir M. Trivedi, Chair

Makeda Scott

Micah Watson

William H. Cox, Jr.

Alvaro Gaviria

Muhammad S. Qureshi

George H. Littrell, Jr.

Michael J. Moore

Jack LuskinCalman J. Zamoiski, Jr.

State Roads Commission - Regional Members: (Ex Officio)


George H. Lowe, Jr.

Elmer E. Horsey

Carol S. Petzold

Catherine I. Riley

Gary M. Simpson

Gregory I. Snook

Mario F. VillaSanta


Ian M. Beam

7201 Corporate Center Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
(410) 865-1280

Last Updated on 10/03/2014