Skip Navigation
Skip to Main Content


Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee



The present-day Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (MBPAC) was formed in December 1991 as the Bicycle Advisory Committee (Chapter 624, Acts of 1991). In July 2000, the Committee became the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (Chapter 670, Acts of 2000). The Committee advises State government agencies on issues directly related to bicycling and pedestrian activity including funding, public awareness, safety and education (Code Transportation Article, sec. 2-606).

The twenty-two member committee is appointed by the Governor, combining the experience of citizens with the expertise of representatives from nine State agencies (Chapter 443, Acts of 2009). Committee members represent geographical regions throughout the State and specific interests, including those of visually and mobility impaired individuals.

Focus Areas

MBPAC has three focus areas for promoting bicycle and pedestrian activities:
1. Mode of Transportation  –  Promotes non-motorized modes as healthy, efficient, and environmentally-friendly ways to travel for work and  for fun. 
2. Education and Awareness – Promotes activities, programs and policies that foster bicycle and pedestrian safety education across all age groups; also promotes greater awareness of the mission and work of the MBPAC.
3. Tourism & Recreation –  Promoting and protecting Maryland's off-road trail system while supporting Maryland State agencies,  and providing guidance on program strategies that promote Maryland's trails and tourism resources.



Chairperson: Eric Brenner

State Representatives:

Maryland Department of Commerce: Marci Ross

Maryland Department of Disabilities: Cari Watrous

Maryland Department of Health: Erin Penniston

Maryland Department of Planning: Scott Hansen

Maryland Department of Transportation-TSO: Charles Glass & Oluseyi Olugbenle

Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission: Fred Shaffer

Maryland State Department of Education: Chris Hersl

Maryland State Police: Laura Beck


Baltimore City: Greg Hinchliffe

Eastern Shore: Amanda Fenstermaker, Robert Gaston, Tres Denk

Harford County: Kevin Racine

Prince George's County: James Titus

Southern Maryland: John Hartline

The Washington Metropolitan Area: Jon Morrison, Patrick Sheehan & John Wetmore

Western Maryland: Steve Green

When & Where Do We Meet?

2018 Meeting Schedule:

  • January 26, 2018  9:30 AM, Maryland Office of Tourism Development, 401 East Pratt Street, Baltimore, Maryland – Agenda | Minutes
  • April 6, 2018  9:30 AM, Ascend One Building, 8930 Stanford Blvd, Columbia, Maryland - Agenda | Minutes
  • August 10, 2018  9:30 AM, Anne Arundel County Police Department, The Command Center, 8495 Veterans Hwy, Millersville, Maryland - Agenda | Minutes
  • November 9, 2018  9:30 AM, Maryland Department of Planning, 301 West Preston Street, Suite 1101, Baltimore, Maryland (Limited in-building parking available; Consider MTA bus, Metro, or Light Rail) - Agenda

When & Where Have We Met?

One MDOT Theme - 2017 Meetings at MDOT Business Units: 

  • January 13, 2017  Maryland Department of Transportation Headquarters
  • April 14, 2017  The State Highway Administration
  • June 23, 2017  Panel discussion at the Dorchester Center for Arts, tour at the new Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad State Park
  • July 14, 2017  Maryland Transit Administration
  • September 8, 2017  Maryland Aviation Administration - BWI Airport
  • October 20, 2017  Maryland State Offices (Bicycle and Pedestrian Roundtable)
  • December 8, 2017 Motor Vehicle Administration

2018 Meeting Minutes & Materials:

Previous Years' Meeting Minutes & Materials:

2017 Meeting Minutes
2016 Meeting Minutes

2015 Meeting Minutes


Contact Us

For inquiries specific to MBPAC, contact:

For inquiries regarding bicycle and pedestrian activity on state roadways, contact: