Skip Navigation
Skip to Main Content


Maryland Transportation Commission

The Maryland Transportation Commission shall consider any request for the dedication of transportation facilities in memory or honor of individuals or groups of significance to the state of Maryland. 

Formed in 1971, the Maryland Transportation Commission (MTC) studies the State transportation system (Chapter 526, Acts of 1970) and advises the Secretary of Transportation and Department Administrators on policy and programs.
The Commission has seventeen members, including ten appointed members and seven regional members. Ten members are appointed to three-year terms by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary of Transportation. The seven regional members of the State Roads Commission serve ex officio. The Governor names the Chair (Code Transportation Article, secs. 2-201 through 2-205).


Ian Beam serves as the MTC's staff person. Inquiries regarding the MTC can be directed to Mr. Beam via e-mail or by calling 410-865-1280 direct or 1-888-713-1414 toll-free. Postal mail should be sent to the attention of Mr. Beam at the following address:

Maryland Transportation Commission
c/o Mr. Ian Beam
Maryland Department of Transportation
7201 Corporate Center Drive
Hanover, MD 21076