NEWS RELEASE

MARYLAND STATE POLICE

HEADQUARTERS: PIKESVILLE, MD 21208

(410)486-3101 or 1-800-525-5555

Hearing Impaired TTY (410)486-0677

www.mdsp.org www.youtube.com/Maryland State Police
www.facebook.com/MarylandStatePolice

ARYLAy

W

SME POL/c

el
AN .I:ll

x>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 12, 2012
NEW NON-FUNCTIONING TRAFFIC LIGHT LAW TO TAKE EFFECT

(PIKESVILLE, MD) — Maryland State Police are reminding motorists of a new law about
to take effect regarding actions drivers must take when approaching intersections with
non-functioning traffic signals.

Beginning October 1, 2012, a driver approaching a non-functioning traffic control
signal from any direction at an intersection shall stop:
-at a clearly marked stop line;
-before entering any crosswalk; or
-before entering the intersection.
After stopping, the driver must:
-yield to any vehicle or pedestrian in the intersection; and
-remain stopped until it is safe to enter and continue through the
intersection.

Intersection traffic control signals, most commonly called ‘red lights,” or *stop
lights,” direct the safe and orderly flow of traffic in and through thousands of
intersections across Maryland. Most are powered by electricity that can be interrupted
because of storms, traffic crashes, or other incidents that cause power outages. Just
because a traffic control signal is not functioning at an intersection does not mean drivers
are relieved of their duty to exercise care and caution. The new law makes clear the
procedures each driver must now follow.

Violations of the new law carry a fine of $90 and two points if the offense does
not contribute to an accident. If the violation contributes to a crash, the fine is $130 and
three points.

REMEMBER EXISTING LAWS:

If two vehicles approach an intersection without a traffic control device or with a
non-functioning traffic control signal from different roadways at the same time, there is
existing motor vehicle law that applies. In this situation, the driver on the left must yield
the right-of-way to the vehicle on his or her immediate right.
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There are also times when a traffic control signal that normally operates green,
yellow, and red lights may be in “flashing’ mode. This usually means red lights may be
flashing in one direction and yellow lights are flashing in another direction. Flashing red
and yellow lights on a traffic control signal do not mean the light is ‘non-functioning.’

In this situation, the drivers approaching the red flashing light must stop and can
only proceed when the intersection is clear. Drivers approaching the yellow flashing
light should slow down and use caution, but are permitted to proceed through the
intersection without stopping. Drivers are also reminded that if a police officer is
directing traffic in the intersection, they should obey the directions of that officer,
regardless of the signal indicated on the traffic control device.

It is difficult to describe every potential intersection situation. Above all, drivers
are reminded that it is their duty to always drive with care and caution, especially when
approaching an intersection with a non-functioning signal. If other drivers are present at
the intersection, remember to be courteous, use caution, and do everything possible to try
to determine the intentions of other motorists and communicate your intentions, if you are
unsure of how to proceed. Even if you have the right of way, it is better to allow another
driver to proceed if it appears he or she is going to do so, instead of risking an
intersection crash.
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ATTENTION!
NEW LAW RE:
NON-FUNCTIONING TRAFFIC LIGHTS

Effective October 1, 2012, adriver approaching a non-functioning
traffic control signal from any direction at an intersection MUST :

STOP AT A CLEARLY MARKED STOP LINE,
BEFORE ENTERING ANY CROSSWALK, OR BEFORE
ENTERING THE INTERSECTION.

After stopping, the driver MUST :

YIELD TO ANY VEHICLE OR PEDESTRIAN IN THE
INTERSECTION AND REMAIN STOPPED UNTIL IT IS
SAFE TO ENTER AND CONTINUE THROUGH THE
INTERSECTION.

Violations of thislaw carry afine of $90 and two pointsif the offense
does not contribute to an accident. If the violation contributesto a crash, the
fine is $130 and three points.

Remember — If a traffic light is out:
STOP, YIELD, PROCEED WITH CAUTION
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