Title 11 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Subtitle 11 MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION — ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

Chapter 05 Motor Vehicle Fees

Authority: Transportation Article, §12-104(b), Annotated Code of Maryland, and as cited in Regulations .02-..06 of this chapter

.04 Vehicle Registration Fees.

Service	Section	Fee
A. — K. (text unchanged)		
L. Electronic or Digital 24-Hour Registration	13-405.2	20

NEW 11.15.39

Title 11 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Subtitle 15 MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION — VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Chapter 39 Electronic or Digital 24-Hour Registration

Authority: Transportation Article, §§12-104(b), and 13-405.1, Annotated Code of Maryland

.01 Purpose

This chapter establishes the criteria for the owner of a vehicle to apply, pay for and receive, an electronic or digital 24-hour registration for the purpose of operating a vehicle on a highway in the state of Maryland.

.02 Definitions.

- A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.
- B. Terms Defined.
 - (1) "Administration" means the Motor Vehicle Administration.
 - (2) "Electronic or digital 24-hour registration" is an online transaction provided by Administration through eservices.

.03 Application for Electronic or Digital 24-Hour Registration

- A. The owner of a vehicle that is not currently registered in the new owner's name in the State and who wishes to use the vehicle on a Maryland state highway may apply for an electronic or digital 24-hour registration in a format prescribed by the Administration.
- B. An applicant for an electronic or digital 24-hour registration shall provide the Administration with a completed online application, the required fee set forth in COMAR 11.11.05, and proof of the following, as described in Regulation .04 of this chapter:
 - (1) Identity;
 - (2) Vehicle ownership; and
 - (3) Insurance.
 - C. Application for an electronic or digital 24-hour registration may be submitted through the Administrations online services.

.04 Period of Validity

- A. An electronic or digital 24-hour registration shall:
 - (1) Be valid for a period of 24-hours; and
 - (2) Indicate the expiration date and time.
- B. The Administration may not issue more than one 24-Hour registration for each vehicle sales transaction.

.05 Required Proofs

A. As proof of identity, an applicant for an electronic or digital 24-hour registration shall furnish a valid State issued ID or driver's license.

B. As proof of ownership, an applicant for an electronic or digital 24-hour registration shall provide a properly assigned certificate of title or other ownership documentation acceptable to the Administration.

C. As proof of insurance, an applicant for an electronic or digital 24-hour registration shall provide proof that the vehicle for which the electronic or digital 24-hour registration is to be issued is covered by the minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance required by Transportation Article, §17-103, Annotated Code of Maryland.

CHRISTINE NIZER

Administrator

Motor Vehicle Administration