

Larry Hogan Governor Boyd K. Rutherford

Lt. Governor Gregory Slater Secretary

November 24, 2020

Mr. Gregory Murrill Division Administrator Attn: Dr. Kwame Arhin Federal Highway Administration Maryland Division George H. Fallon Federal Building 31 Hopkins Plaza, Suite 1520 Baltimore MD 21201

Ms. Terry Garcia Crews Regional Administrator Attn: Mr. Ryan Long Federal Transit Administration 1760 Market Street. Suite 500 Philadelphia PA 19103

Dear Mr. Murrill and Ms. Crews:

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) hereby amends the Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 – 2022 Maryland Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) to include the Salisbury/Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization (S/WMPO) FY 2021 - FY 2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). This TIP was approved by the S/WMPO Council on September 22, 2020. The MDOT has assigned Control #19-87 for this amendment. The document can be accessed at the following online link:

https://www.swmpo.org/planning-documents

To access the document, please then scroll down to the FY 2021 – FY 2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) link.

Mr. Gregory Murrill Ms. Terry Garcia Crews Page Two

The Maryland Statewide Transportation Improvement Program continues to be fiscally constrained. Should you have additional questions or concerns, please contact Mr. Ian Beam at 410-865-1280, toll free 888-713-1414 or via e-mail at ibeam@mdot.state.md.us. Of course, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Tyn Byn

Tyson Byrne Regional Planning Manager Office of Planning and Capital Programming

cc: Mr. Ian Beam, Regional Planner, OPCP, MDOT

## RESOLUTION BY THE SALISBURY/WICOMICO METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION COUNCIL ADOPTING THE FY 2021 – FY 2024 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM RESOLUTION 07-2020 Adopted September 22, 2020

WHEREAS, the Salisbury/Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization ("S/WMPO") was established to conduct regional transportation planning for the S/WMPO area in accordance with applicable federal requirements;

WHEREAS, the S/WMPO Council is the governing body for the S/WMPO;

WHEREAS, the Maryland Department of Transportation ("MDOT"), Delaware Department of Transportation ("DelDOT"), and the S/WMPO prepared the FY 2021 – FY 2024 Transportation Improvement Program ("TIP") for the S/WMPO Area in compliance with applicable Federal programs and regulations;

WHEREAS, the draft FY 2021 – FY 2024 TIP was reviewed by the S/WMPO Technical Advisory Committee, which made a favorable recommendation to forward the document to the S/WMPO Council for review and action;

WHEREAS, the draft FY 2021 – FY 2024 TIP was available for public review and comment for a period of no less than 15-days prior to an action of the S/WMPO Council at an advertised public hearing on September 22, 2020, which no public comments were received; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** the S/WMPO Council does adopt the FY 2021 – FY 2024 TIP for the S/WMPO Urbanized Area.

9 22/2020

Matt E. Creamer, Chairman, S/WMPO Council



Federal Transit Administration 1835 Market Street Suite 1910 Philadelphia, PA 19103 215- 656-7100 215-656-7260 (fax) Federal Highway Administration 1201 College Park Drive Suite 102 Dover, DE 19904 302-734-5323 302-734-3066 (fax)

Refer to: HDA-DE November 16, 2020

Mr. Keith Hall Chief, Long-Range and Transportation Planning Salisbury/Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization P.O. Box 870 Salisbury, MD 21803-0870

Re: Salisbury-Wicomico MPO FY 2021-2024 TIP/ 2050 RTP Air Quality Conformity Approval

Dear Mr. Hall:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) have completed a joint review of the Sussex County, DE & Salisbury/Wicomico Metropolitan Planning Organization's (SWMPO) documentation illustrating that no new non-exempt nor regionally-significant projects were added to the Fiscal Year (FY) 2021 – 2024 Transportation Improvement Plan (TIP) dated September 15, 2020 and the 2050 Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) and the modeled horizon years of existing regionally-significant projects remained intact. The FY 2021-2024 TIP and 2050 RTP conformity determination rely on the original FY 2020-2023 TIP/2050 RTP regional emissions analyses, adopted by the SWMPO Council on December 20, 2019 conformity determination for the 2008 8-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for Sussex County, DE (i.e., Seaford, DE Nonattainment Area).

In accordance with the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) and 23 CFR 450.322(l), the FHWA and the FTA must make a joint air quality conformity determination. The EPA, by letter dated October 29, 2020, determined that the LRTP and TIP meet the requirements, and they have no issues with the conformity determinations.

Based on our evaluation of the material submitted, coordination with EPA's Region 3 Office, and input from DelDOT and SWMPO, we have determined that SWMPO's Connect 2050 LRTP and FY 2021-2024 TIP, and the Sussex County portion of Delaware's FY 2021-2024 STIP conform with the 1990 CAAA and 40 CFR Part 93, and, therefore, <u>render a positive conformity</u> determination for the aforementioned programs.

Mr. Keith Hall

Re: Amended Salisbury-Wicomico MPO FY 2021-2024 TIP/ 2050 RTP Air Quality Conformity Approval

We have also determined that the amended FY 2021 - 2024 TIP and Connect 2050 LRTP are based on a continuing, comprehensive transportation planning process carried on cooperatively by the State, MPO, and transit operators in accordance with provisions of 23 USC 134 and 135 and 49 USC Sections 5303-5305. Based upon the information provided by DelDOT and SWMPO, we concur that the TIP is fiscally constrained and consistent with the LRTP.

If you have any questions, please contact Lindsay Donnellon, FHWA Delaware Division, (410)779-7157, or Tim Lidiak, FTA Region III, (215) 656-7084.

Sincerely yours,

Terry Garcia Crews Regional Administrator Federal Transit Administration Douglas S. Atkin Division Administrator Federal Highway Administration

cc:

Marc Coté, DelDOT (sent via email) Mike DuRoss, DelDOT (sent via email) Josh Thomas, DelDOT (sent via email) Tyson Byrne, Maryland DOT (sent via email) Ian Beam, Maryland DOT (sent via email) Gregory Becoat, EPA, Region 3 (sent via email) Kwame Arhin, FHWA Maryland (sent via email)