MINUTES OF THE MARYLAND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION May 4, 2022

I. Call to Order

Chair Jim Calderwood called the Maryland Transportation Commission meeting to order on Wednesday, May 4, 2022, at 10:33 AM via virtual Teams meeting.

II. Roll Call

The following individuals were present:

James A. Calderwood, Chair William Callahan, Member Camillo DiCamillo, Member Debra Farrar-Dyke, Member Thomas Hampton, Member Jennifer Hill-Lineweber, Member Elmer Horsey, Member Natasha Iheme, Member George Littrell, Jr., Member Lisa Weimin Liu, Member Ben Neil, Member Barbara Richman-Kahn, Member Rizwan Siddiqi, Member Gary Simpson, Member Greg Snook, Member Mario VillaSanta, Member MDOT Staff Brittany Brothers MDOT Staff Tyson Byrne MDOT Staff Tim Kerns MDOT Staff Corey Stottlemyer

III. Approval of Meeting Minutes

Mr. Calderwood asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the April 6, 2022 meeting. Mr. Simpson made a motion to approve the minutes and Mr. Littrell seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

IV. Maryland Highway Safety Office

Mr. Stottlemyer introduced Kerns, Director, Maryland Highway Safety Office (MHSO), MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration who provided members with an overview of the MHSO's role and responsibilities. His presentation included statistics, system principles, information about the Be the Driver Campaign, and the status of traffic patterns post-COVID 19. Ms. Iheme provided information about the MHSO Driver Training Program. At the end of the presentation, Mr. Kerns fielded questions from the members.

V. Dedication of MDOT Facilities

Mr. Calderwood and Mr. Byrne directed the members' attention to several dedication request letters.

Colonel Richard W. Dean II's dedication request was submitted and requested at Route 26 (Liberty Road) from Libertytown west towards Frederick.

SP/4 Ronald Anthony Spudis' dedication request was submitted and requested at the Route 155 bridge over 1-95 near Havre de Grace.

Sergeant Mujahid Ramzziddin's dedication request was submitted and requested as a road sign at the entrance of MGM National Harbor.

Mr. Calderwood asked for a motion to approve the three dedication requests at once. Ms. Hill-Lineweber made a motion to approve the dedication request and Mr. VillaSanta seconded the request. The motion carried unanimously.

VI. Other Business

Mr. Stottlemyer informed members that MDOT is in the process of applying for the I-81 INFRA Grant. He asked members to consider signing a letter of support, which MDOT staff will draft and circulate to the members for review.

VII. Adjournment

Mr. Calderwood asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting and reconvene on June 1, 2022. Mr. Snook made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Simpson seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously, and the meeting was adjourned.