MINUTES OF THE MARYLAND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION April 5, 2023

I. Call to Order

Chair Jim Calderwood called the Maryland Transportation Commission meeting to order on Wednesday, April 5, 2023, at 10:31 AM via Teams meeting.

II. Roll Call

The following individuals were present:

James A. Calderwood, Chair
Camillo DiCamillo, Member
Thomas Hampton, Member
Jennifer Hill-Leineweber, Member
George Littrell, Jr., Member
Lisa Weimin Liu, Member
Barbara Richman-Kahn, Member
Gary Simpson, Member
Greg Snook, Member
Mario VillaSanta, Member
MDOT Staff Brittany Brothers
MDOT Staff Nate Evans
MDOT Staff Rashad Pinckney

III. Approval of Meeting Minutes

Mr. Calderwood asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the March 1, 2023, meeting. Mr. VillaSanta made a motion to approve the minutes and Mr. Simpson seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

IV. Bicycle/Pedestrian Plan

Mr. Pinckney introduced Nate Evans, Active Transportation, MDOT TSO. Mr. Evans provided members with a presentation about the MDOT Bicycle/Pedestrian Plan. His presentation included an overview of the 20-year vision addressing all transportation needs across the state. At the conclusion of her presentation, he fielded questions from the members.

V. Dedication of MDOT Facilities

Mr. Pinckney provided members with an overview of the dedication request for Thomas Hicks, a retired traffic engineer for Maryland Department of Transportation, Chief Neil Payne of Somerset County Emergency Services, Officer Gregory Collins of Somerset County and Firefighter Michael Powers of Libertytown Volunteer Fire Department. Simpson made the motion to approve the dedication request and Mr. VillaSanta seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

VI. Adjournment

Mr. Calderwood asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting and reconvene on May 3, 2023. Mr. VillaSanta made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Hampton seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously, and the meeting was adjourned.