Maryland Zero Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council Image of Electric Vehicles

About the Council

The Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council (EVIC) was established by State legislation in 2011. In 2019, the membership, responsibilities, and reporting requirements of EVIC was expanded to include zero emission vehicles (ZEVs) and fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs). To reflect the expanded responsibilities of the council, EVIC was renamed the Maryland Zero Emission Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council (ZEEVIC). In 2020 and in 2021, the membership of ZEEVIC was expanded further and the Council’s termination date was extended to 2026.

The ZEEVIC is charged with the development of policies, recommendations, and incentives that increase awareness of ZEVs, support the ownership of ZEVs, and promote investment by the private sector in ZEVs; the development of recommendations for a statewide EV charging and hydrogen refueling infrastructure plan; and the development of other potential policies to promote and facilitate the successful integration of ZEVs into Maryland’s transportation network.

Click the image to explore MDOT's Grant Siting Tool

Maryland by the Numbers*:

Registered EVs
EVs per 1,000 People
Alt. Fuel Corridors

*As of April 30, 2023

ZEEVIC Meeting Schedule 2023

The ZEEVIC Meetings will be held on the following dates from 2-4pm. The meetings will be held in a hybrid format with the option to attend in person at MDOT Headquarters (7201 Corporate Center Drive) or virtually through TEAMs. The link to the TEAMS meeting and the call-in information can be found in the meeting agenda. 

Date Agenda Presentation/Materials Notes
January 12, 2023 Agenda Presentation Meeting Notes
February 23, 2023 Agenda Draft Legislation Support Letter
Draft Letter to PSC
Letter Attachment
Meeting Notes
March 8, 2023 Agenda Presentation
Draft Legislation Support Letter
Meeting Notes
July 12, 2023      
September 13, 2023      
November 8, 2023      

Documents prior to 2023 are available under Archived Materials.

ZEEVIC 2023 MGA Session Recap

2022 Annual Report

Cover Image of 2022 ZEEVIC Annual Report

ZEEVIC Procedures Updated January 2023

Priorities Statement

  • Install more EVSE and ensure EV readiness through strategic infrastructure planning, particularly focusing on rural communities, equitable EVSE placement in environmental justice communities, corridors, and multi-unit dwellings and apply lessons learned from EVSE deployment to continuously improve EVSE infrastructure.
  • Maximize the use of grant and alternative funding opportunities for EV/EVSE in Maryland, particularly funds allocated to Maryland through the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, by collaborating across local and state agencies to strategically target funds for optimal infrastructure expansion.
  • Continue ZEV education and outreach coordination, with a focus on diversity and equity, to increase ZEV deployment.

ZEEVIC Annual Reports

ZEEVIC Members

Name & Position Representing
Heather Murphy, Director Maryland Department of Transportation (Council Interim Chair)
Hyeon-Shic Shin, PhD., Morgan State University Member from a Maryland institution of higher education
Weston Young, Worcester County Maryland Association of Counties - rural region
Vacant Maryland Association of Counties - urban or suburban region
Nina Forsythe, City of Frostburg Maryland Municipal League - rural region
David Edmondson, City of Frederick Maryland Municipal League - urban or suburban region
Elvia Thompson, Annapolis Green EV Driver Advocacy Organization
Kristy Fleischmann-Groncki, BGE Electric Companies
Robert Stewart, PEPCO Holdings, Inc.
Jeff Shaw, SMECO
Jason Tai, Tesla Consultant Electric Vehicle Manufacturer
Kevin Miller, ChargePoint, Inc. Electric Vehicle Charging Station Manufacturer
Robert Wimmer, Toyota Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle Manufacturer
Joe Alfred, Ally Power Inc. Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Equipment Manufacturer
Steven Koerner, BP Pulse Fleet Fleet Operator
Michael A. Wall, Clinton Electric Company Electrical Workers
Scott Wilson, Electric Vehicle Association of Washington D.C. Environmental Community
Paul Verchinski Public with expertise in energy or transportation policy
Vacant New vehicle dealer association
Senator Clarence K. Lam, M.D., District 12 Baltimore and Howard Counties State Senate
Delegate Tony Bridges, District 41 Baltimore City House of Delegates
Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo, District 15 Montgomery County
Bihui Xu, Transportation Planning Maryland Department of Planning
Serena Coleman McIlwain, Secretary Maryland Department of the Environment
Kevin A. Anderson, Secretary Maryland Department of Commerce
Kevin Mosier, Assistant Director – Energy Analysis & Planning Maryland Public Service Commission
Paul Pinsky, Director Maryland Energy Administration
David Lapp, People's Counsel Office of People's Counsel

Archived Meeting Materials

January 30th: | Agenda  | Notes
March 29th: | Agenda  | Notes
May 23rd: | Agenda  | Notes
July 18th: | Agenda  | Notes
September 27th: | Agenda  | Notes
November 21st: | Agenda  | Notes | Presentation

January 19th: | Agenda  | Notes March 15th: | Agenda  | Notes
May 30th: | Agenda  | Notes
July 26th: | Agenda  | Notes
September 20th: | Agenda  | Notes
December 14th: | Agenda  | Notes


Staff Contact